My Reading Challenges for 2016

One of the things I realized I’ve missed doing over the past couple of years is reading. I used to go through book after book after book and working at Barnes & Noble just made it easier. Since then however, I’ve found it hard to make as much time for reading as before. I’ve been trying to turn that around lately and have succeeded in getting back into the swing of things. I’ve gotten through a handful of books, both physical and audio, on my to read list. One of my goals for the new year is to keep up this momentum and read at least 50 books in 2016. That shouldn’t prove too bad, it’s about 4-5 books a month. I plan on breaking that down to 2 physical novels, 1 audiobook, and 1 graphic novel/comic/manga. To help me keep this goal I’ve decided to do some reading challenges. There’s gonna be a lot of overlap in these challenges as I tend to love similar styles of books.

Finishing the Series Reading Challenge hosted by Bea’s Book Nook

final2b22blarge

The Goal:

Level 1 (Novice series reader) – Complete 1 series
Level 2 (Testing the waters) – Complete 2 -4 series
Level 3 (Experienced) – Complete 3 – 6 series
Level 4 (Expert series reader) – Complete 7 or more series

My Goal: Level 2 (Testing the waters) – Complete 2 -4 series

Some Series I Hope to Complete:

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge hosted by Alexa Loves Books and Hello, Chelly

flightsoffantasy-2016

The Goal:

There are no levels for this but I anticipate that the majority of the books I read in 2015 will count towards this.

My Goal: About 25 books

Some Books I’ll Probably Read for This:

Graphic Novel/Manga Reading Challenge hosted by Graphic Novel Challenge

2016gnbutton

The Goal:

Modern Age: read and review 12 books during the year
Bronze Age: read and review 24 books during the year
Silver Age: read and review 52 books during the year

My Goal: Modern Age – 12 books

Some Books I’ll Probably Read for This:

(Fairytale) Retelling Reading Challenge hosted by The Daily Profit

sound

The Goal:

Enchanted Moura: 1 – 4 books.
Goose Girl: 5 – 9 books.
Evil Queen: 10 – 15 books.
Wise princess: 16 – 20 books.
Kuma Lisa: 21 – 25 books.
Cheshire cat: 26+ books

My Goal: Goose Girl – 5-9 books though I have a feeling I may hit Evil Queen as a lot of the books I have planned are retellings.

Some Books I’ll Probably Read for This:

Peter Pan Retellings Reading Challenge created by SuperSpaceChick

peter-pan-reading-challenge-2016

The Goal:

I LOVE Peter Pan and have been aching to read more of the great retellings I’ve seen lately so I couldn’t help but want to do this challenge. The goal for this is to read once a month as laid out in the graphic and while I’m not sure I’ll be able to hit one every month nor do I believe I’ll read these in the same order I definitely want to read as many as I can. Plus, they’ll help with my Flights of Fantasy and (Fairytale) Retellings challenges. Win-Win!

Rock My TBR Reading Challenge hosted by Sarah K (The YA Book Traveler)

Rock My TBR Reading Challenge Button

The Goal:

To read at least 1 book a month that is already owned.

My Goal: I own a good deal of the books listed in the challenges above so I’ll probably reach at least 20.

TBR Pile Reading Challenge hosted by Bookish Lifestyle

image2

The Goal:

1-10 A Firm Handshake
11-20 A Friendly Hug
21-30 First Kiss
31-40 Sweet Summer Fling
41-50 Could This Be Love?
50+ Married with Children

My Goal: 11-20 A Friendly Hug. This is the second TBR challenge I’ll be doing just because I really want to get through my huge pile of them! I’m hoping to surpass my goal but I wanted to set something low first since I’m just getting back into the swing of things.

tumblr_mso2eepkao1ql53vgo3_500

My final challenge will be the annual Goodreads Reading Challenge. I’m setting myself a goal of 50 to start but hope to up my goal as the year goes on. I read over 10 books in just the last couple of months so it shouldn’t be hard.

6 thoughts on “My Reading Challenges for 2016

  1. Ohh, that Peter Pan retelling challenge looks fun! Tiger Lily is one of my favorite books, I hope you’ll love it as much as I do. Hook’s revenge is also really good (and surprisingly funny!) Rock my TBR, flights of fantasy and Goodreads are also challenges I participate in. It’s great to have you joining my challenge. Happy reading and good luck 😀

    Like

    • Tiger Lily is one of the ones I’m most looking forward to reading next year. I’m so excited to be joining your challenge. It’s one of my favorites that I’ve come across. Good luck with your challenges as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

