Pixar Book Tag

For today’s Beauty and the Bookshelf’s Get Up Offa That Slump challenge, one of our prompt choices was to do a book tag. So of course I picked Chasing Faerytale’s Pixar Book Tag… ’cause Pixar.

the2bpixar2bbook2btag

1. Warm up question: What’s your favorite Pixar Movie?

8ae5bf73b71b

Gonna have to be a tie between Ratatouille and Wall-E. Ratatouille instantly became one of my favorites after I saw it because the characters were all so great, the food looked so amazing I totally would have eaten it if it was real, and the music… ugh… I loved all the French cafe inspired music. Wall-E is one of my favorites in that it’s probably the Pixar movie I think is most beautiful and well done. The managed to show a love story between 2 characters with limited vocabulary (and robots no less), managed to make AI seem more relatable than humans, the animation was to die for (that space though), and again… the music… some of my favorite.

tumblr_lbiqlgegr21qbkc1no1_500

2. Toy Story: Your favorite childhood book that you never grew out of

tumblr_ljac2pa5021qav6beo1_500

While I could easily say Harry Potter or other similar books, I’m gonna have to go with The Phantom Tollbooth. While I haven’t read this since I was a kid (though I’m definitely planning a reread soon) I remember loving it a lot and things really stuck with me. For one, all the puns and two, I just loved the crazy imagination behind it all.

3. A Bug’s Life: A book that felt too similar to another popular book

giphy

While it may seem like a bit of a stretch to some, Uglies and Hunger Games seemed a bit similar to me. They both had secret areas/districts that the main characters weren’t supposed to find out about but did, they both had areas/districts that were much better off than others, they both had the main character perform an act of defiance on the main governing body. While there are definitely a lot of differences, there were still too many similarities for me to ignore.

4. Monsters Inc.: A villain whom you couldn’t hate

tumblr_inline_nlzr13xn8w1sixdl3

This turned out to be a draw between Raistlin of the Dragonlance Legends series and Aeduan from Truthwitch. Both characters showed signs of understanding morality and erring on the positive side of it time and time again and while they may not have been wholly good characters, I don’t know that I’d consider them to be wholly evil either.

5. Finding Nemo: Best family relationship you read about in a book

excited-nemo-finding-nemo

Yet another tie, this time between the Baudelaire siblings and the Weasleys. While both families went through the ringer, they always stood by each other and their friends, always stood for what was right regardless of whether it was difficult, and always loved and cared about each other unconditionally.

6. The Incredibles: The superpower of a character that you wish you had

tumblr_nsw0y9olrx1tx9vazo1_500

Gonna have to go with Deadpool on this one. I’m a big fan of quick regeneration (considering I’m a klutz and an athlete) and having that ability would be ideal.

7. Cars: A book where the characters go on a road trip/travel a lot

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24437-1415736204-4

The Hobbit for sure. I mean you don’t get there and back again without traveling pretty far 😉

8. Ratatouille: Your favorite sidekick in a book

tumblr_nikl8pxddz1tq4of6o1_500

Tasselhoff from the Dragonlance shared universe. His fearlessness, coupled with his childlike sensibilities makes him easy to love and cheer for.

9. Wall-E: Favorite dystopia book/series

walle002

Ready Player One for sure. It was so well written that I could picture everything in my mind so clearly. Plus, I just really love the idea of being able to live in a video game.

10. Up: Most beautiful love story you’ve ever read

tumblr_lvvbd9o9ho1qis1ejo3_400

I’m a big fan of the enemies to lovers trope when it comes to romance, like in Pride & Prejudice and  Much Ado About Nothing, but my favorite is Anne of Green Gables. The way Anne and Gilbert’s relationship evolves over time is just so great.

11. Brave: The most badass heroine you’ve read about

tumblr_md8ik3ct4k1rfpmdxo1_500

Iseult from Truthwitch. While some might think Safi is more of the badass, Iseult goes through hell and back while always trying to look out for the people she cares about. Even when she’s barely just recovered from the brink of death, she still goes and puts herself at risk for her Threadsister, Safi. Plus, she’s just as much of a kickass fighter as Safi.

12. Inside Out: The book that gave you all “the feels”

giphy1

Without a doubt, Harry Potter. Every book struck such a chord with me over and over again. Definitely had all the feels reading them.

Leave a Reply

