One Year Later…

T Minus 0 Weeks

This year. Has. Been. Rough. Just some highlights include: my cat getting cancer and losing a leg (she’s better now), barely skating anymore, and losing my job. So, fun times. All that along with other things have really demotivated me from doing anything that wasn’t either directly productive (like looking for a job) or as much of a distraction from life as possible (like playing massive amounts of Overwatch). I mostly want to forget 2016 existed but I’m hoping 2017 is better.

So as a general update, many things have changed since I started this blog a little over a year ago but not quite in the way I expected. While I was unemployed for quite a bit I am working at a new temporary job now. I’m really liking it so far and I hope to become permanent. Because of the financial situation that accompanies losing a job, we are staying at the apartment for another year. The bright side of that is our landlord is letting us keep pets this year so I finally get my tripod kitty back!

I’ve also been working a lot on a long-term goal I want to pursue, working in animation. I’ve been getting back into sketching a lot more and have been working on my computer so I can play with art and animation programs more. My boyfriend also just got a Microsoft Surface and he’s being extremely kind enough to let me use it now and then so I definitely want to see what I can do there. I haven’t gotten much further than basic sketches and long term ideas but I’m hoping to start building a portfolio next year.

Lightning round!

Since my last update…

Books I’ve read:

  • Deadpool, Vol. 1: Secret Invasion by Daniel Way – 4/5
  • Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith – 4.5/5
  • Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen – 4/5
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson – 4.5/5
  • Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe – 5/5
  • Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe – 5/5
  • Rat Queens, Vol. 3: Demons by Kurtis J. Wiebe – 5/5
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – 4/5
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson – 4.5/5
  • Girls to the Front: The True Story of the Riot Grrrl Revolution by Sara Marcus – 3/5
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey – 5/5
  • Dungeons & Dragons Player’s Handbook (5th Edition) by Wizards RPG Team – 5/5
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling – 5/5
  • Lock In by John Scalzi – 5/5
  • Unlocked: An Oral History of Haden’s Syndrome by John Scalzi – 5/5
  • Les Liaisons Dangereuses by Pierre-Ambroise Choderlos de Laclos – 4/5

  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro – 4.5/5

Movies I’ve seen:

  • Deadpool
  • How to Be Single
  • Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
  • Zootopia
  • The Little Prince
  • Keanu
  • The Boss
  • Hush
  • X-Men: Apocalypse
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising
  • Finding Dory
  • The Secret Life of Pets
  • The Purge: Election Year
  • Sausage Party
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children
  • Audrie & Daisy
  • Mascots
  • Doctor Strange
  • Moana
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Shows I’ve Binged:

  • Daredevil
  • Luke Cage (still working on)
  • Critical Role (caught up but behind again)
  • Silicon Valley
  • Stranger Things
  • American Horror Story (still working on)

Games I’ve Played:

  • Broken Age
  • The Escapists
  • Overwatch
  • The Wolf Among Us
  • The Division
  • Halo 5
  • Smite
  • Hearthstone

Things I’ve Done:

  • Watched the Men’s Roller Derby World Cup in Calgary, Canada
  • Went shooting and shot my first handgun
  • Went to Florida Supercon and met Mary Elizabeth McGlynn
  • Got to watch Blizzcon live

Obsessions:

  • Overwatch
  • Critical Role
  • Overwatch
  • Bullet Journaling
  • Overwatch
  • Patent Pending
  • Overwatch

I’m going to keep blogging and make new goals for a new year countdown (which will probably start in a couple of weeks).

Leave a Reply

