January Reviews & Reading Wrap-Up

I read more this month than I expected so I’ll probably take it a little slower the next couple of months.

These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas
23688792
This Victorian era group of X-Men style heroes was a fun but not necessarily incredible read. There were some points that were a little obvious.  However, I really enjoyed reading this and I’m looking forward to reading the second installment.
Rating: 4/5
Challenges It Covers: Flights of Fantasy, Rock My TBR

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson
25066780
I’ve loved the new Ms. Marvel series from the beginning and this volume was probably one of my favorites. I really liked seeing the character development between Kamala and her family and friends as well as her coming to terms with the weight of her responsibilities. I hope there’s more of that in store in the next issue.
Rating: 5/5
Challenges It Covers: 
Graphic Novel/Manga

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
13206760
This took a little bit of willpower to get through but I still enjoyed most of it. I really liked the parts with Cinder, Iko, and Thorne and I liked seeing different aspects of Luna. I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Scarlet/Wolf romance but the rest of the story was compelling.
Rating: 4/5
Challenges It Covers:
Flights of Fantasy, Rock My TBR

The Queen’s Army by Marissa Meyer
16075962
This was a cool look into the background of Wolf, his brother, and the army of Luna. It was nice to see the reason for the decline of Wolf and Ran, his brother. It also helped to give a little info and depth on Queen Levana who we don’t really get enough info on as of yet.
Rating: 4/5
Challenges It Covers:
 Flights of Fantasy, Rock My TBR

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell
21518344
really wanted to like this book. It’s one of the first Peter Pan retellings I’ve read so far and it looked to be one of the more interesting ones. However, I was really disappointed. While the story itself and the adaptation was okay, the characters and their development felt so flat and conflicted. This was especially true for the main character who couldn’t seem to make up her mind on whether she was empowered or just another damsel in distress.
Rating: 3/5
Challenges It Covers:
Flights of Fantasy

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket & The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket
78411
     78418
I’ve read these books many times but with the Netflix release of A Series of Unfortunate Events I wanted to make sure I brushed up before watching. These were just as enjoyable as the first time I read it.
Rating: 5/5
Challenges It Covers:
Flights of Fantasy

January Reading Challenge Progress:

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge
Goal: 15
Progress: 6

Graphic Novel/Manga Reading Challenge
Goal: 12
Progress: 1

Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge
Goal: 10
Progress: 0

Rock My TBR Reading Challenge
Goal: 12
Progress: 3

 

Leave a Reply

